CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM

The inauguration of the new culture and convention center CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM in Künzelsau-Gaisbach was celebrated with a great ceremony on 18 July 2017, the day Carmen Würth celebrated her 80th birthday. “I wanted to raise a monument in my wife’s honor. Carmen and I have been married for 61 years and I am most grateful for every day spent with her. It is a great way to keep her memory alive well beyond our days,”Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhold Würth, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Würth Group's Family Trusts, explained.

Multi-purpose event locations

Construction works lasted 18 months. In that time, a multi-purpose hall, the so-called Great Hall, and a chamber music hall, Reinhold Würth Hall, were built directly across the road from the head office of Adolf Würth GmbH & Co. KG on a surface area of 170,000 square meters.

The Great Hall is suitable for functions such as anniversary celebrations, congresses, trade shows or product presentations and can hold up to 2,500 guests.

A fully glazed gallery surrounds the event space in the Great Hall. The gallery level opens onto a terrace offering a great view of the landscape in the Hohenlohe region.

Großer Saal

Up to 600 guests can experience the unique sound quality of Reinhold Würth Hall. Additional electronic equipment for concerts is not required, thanks to the special design and surface quality of the carefully selected ceiling and wall panels. Their fine perforation helps absorb any undesirable vibrations ensuring optimum sound quality for all listeners. Equipped with state-of-the-art event technology, Reinhold Würth Hall’s special ambiance makes the hall an ideal venue for more prestigious customer events.

Reinhold Würth Saal

The indoor facilities are complemented by a large open-air area for all kinds of outdoor events with space for up to 10,000 visitors. CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM is integrated into a sculpture garden featuring works of internationally renowned sculptors such as Tony Cragg, Niki de Saint Phalle, Antony Caro, Jaume Plensa or Georg Baselitz.

Outstanding architecture

As part of the corporate working culture, Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhold Würth, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Würth Group’s Family Trusts, has always tried to integrate contemporary architectural concepts into the company’s new buildings, turning them into more than mere purpose-built office buildings for the employees. This culture is reflected in the Würth Group’s numerous administration and warehouse buildings and its associated galleries. They bear witness to the Group’s rapid development and are good examples of the architectural styles that were popular at the time these industrial buildings were constructed. This devotion to architecture – the most public form of art – is also reflected in CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM.

CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM was designed by British architect David Chipperfield. Harmoniously embedded in the Hohenlohe landscape, the building itself captivates the viewer with its timeless elegance. Two supporting walls made of roughened in-situ concrete frame the square in front of the building’s main entrance. Crossing the well-lit entrance hall from the main entrance, visitors can access the Great Hall and Reinhold Würth Hall. David Chipperfield described the building as “a symbol for the coming together of the people beyond their desks, beyond the place of work.” It demonstrates the aspirations of a company that sees its role beyond simple commercial criteria.”

In 2017, CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM won the Hugo Häring Prize. The Hugo Häring Prize is awarded by the Baden-Württemberg regional group of the Association of German Architects (BDA) to honor architects and building owners for their joint work to erect outstanding architecture. “The content, use and origins as well as the architectural design and interaction with the surrounding landscape make this project a cultural contribution of great value that has received praise well beyond the borders of the region,” the jury stated in its report.

Das CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM

Mit einem großen Festakt wurde am 18. Juli das neue Kongress- und Kulturzentrum CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM in Künzelsau-Gaisbach eröffnet. An diesem Tag feierte Carmen Würth ihren 80. Geburtstag. „Meiner lieben Frau Carmen, mit der ich seit nunmehr im 61. Jahr verheiratet bin, möchte ich voller Dankbarkeit ein Denkmal setzen. Es wird weit über unsere Zeit hinaus die Erinnerung an sie in schönster Form lebendig halten“, so Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Reinhold Würth, Stiftungsaufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Würth-Gruppe.

Multifunktionale Veranstaltungsflächen

Die Bauzeit erstreckte sich über 18 Monate. Auf einer Fläche von 170.000 Quadratmetern entstanden in dieser Zeit direkt gegenüber der Firmenzentrale der Adolf Würth GmbH & Co. KG eine multifunktionale Veranstaltungshalle, der sogenannte Große Saal und ein Kammermusiksaal, der Reinhold Würth Saal.

Der Große Saal ist für bis zu 2.500 Personen ausgelegt und eignet sich gleichermaßen für Jubilarfeiern, Kongresse, Messen Produktpräsentationen.

Die Veranstaltungsfläche im Großen Saal wird ergänzt durch eine umlaufende, allseitig verglaste Galerie. Auf dieser Ebene steht auch eine Terrasse zur Verfügung, die einen weiten Blick über die Hohenloher Landschaft bietet.

Großer Saal

Der Reinhold Würth Saal bietet rund 600 Besuchern höchsten Klanggenuss. Eine elektronische Unterstützung bei Konzerten wird nicht benötigt. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die Anordnung und Auswahl der Oberflächen der Decken- und Wandpaneele, die unerwünschte Schwingungen durch feinste Perforierung absorbieren und für optimale Klangqualität bei allen Zuhörern sorgen. Ausgestattet mit modernster Veranstaltungstechnik bietet sich der Reinhold Würth Saal durch das besondere Ambiente auch für hochwertige Veranstaltungen im Firmenkundenbereich an.

Reinhold Würth Saal

Die Räumlichkeiten werden ergänzt durch ein großes Außengelände, das für Freiluftveranstaltungen aller Art dient und für bis zu 10.000 Personen ausgelegt ist. Ein Skulpturengarten mit Arbeiten international renommierter Bildhauer wie Tony Cragg, Niki de Saint Phalle, Antony Caro, Jaume Plensa oder Georg Baselitz umgibt das CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM.

Herausragende Architektur

Im Bereich der Arbeitskultur ist es Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhold Würth, Stiftungsaufsichtsrat der Würth-Gruppe seit jeher ein Anliegen zeitgemäße Architekturauffassungen in die Neubauten miteinfließen zu lassen und mehr als reine Zweckbauten für die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter zu erstellen. Diese Kultur spiegelt sich in den zahlreichen Verwaltungs- und Lagergebäuden der Würth-Gruppe sowie den Kunstdependancen wider. Sie sind Zeugnis der rasanten Betriebsentwicklung des Konzerns und zugleich exemplarische Beispiele der Industriearchitektur ihrer Entstehungszeit. Dieser Einsatz für die Architektur – die Öffentlichste aller Kunstformen – findet auch im CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM ihren Ausdruck.

Das CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM wurde entworfen vom britischen Architekten David Chipperfield. Das Gebäude besticht durch seine zeitlose Eleganz und fügt sich perfekt in die Hohenloher Landschaft ein. Zwei Stützwände aus gestocktem Ortbeton fassen einen Vorplatz vor dem Haupteingang des Gebäudes. Der Haupteingang führt in das tageslichtdurchflutete Eingangsfoyer, an das sich der Große Saal und der Reinhold Würth Saal anschließen. David Chipperfield beschreibt das Gebäude als „Symbol für das Zusammentreffen von Menschen, abseits ihrer Arbeitsplätze. Es ist ein Sinnbild des unternehmerischen Anspruchs, mehr als nur geschäftliche Belange bedienen zu wollen.“

Das CARMEN WÜRTH FORUM wurde im Jahr 2017 mit der Hugo-Häring-Auszeichnung prämiert. Der Preis wird vom Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA – Landesverband Baden-Württemberg für vorbildliche Bauwerke an Bauherren und Architekten für ihr gemeinsames Werk vergeben. „Das Projekt ist durch Inhalt, Nutzung und Entstehungsgeschichte sowie die architektonische Gestaltung und den Umgang mit der umgebenden Landschaft ein kultureller Beitrag von hohem Rang, der regional wie auch überregional Beachtung findet“, so die Würdigung der Jury.